Cyril H. Wecht, M.D., J.D.,

Former Chair

Allegheny County Democratic Committee

It is with much sadness that we share the news of the passing of Cyril H. Wecht, M.D., J.D,  former Chair of the Allegheny County Democratic Committee.

A man with great passion and concern for the Democratic Party and a titan in Allegheny County politics over the past half century, Dr. Wecht served as the ACDC Chair from 1978 until 1982.

During his tenure as Chair, Dr. Wecht published the Allegheny County Democrat, a newsletter for the Allegheny County Democratic Committee.  A prolific writer who was willing to speak his mind, Dr. Wecht’s opinions about party unity, from nearly 45 years ago, still ring true today.

“There is no reason why the Democratic Party in Allegheny County cannot remain consolidated and grow even stronger and more unified than we are now. A candid awareness of our problems, an intellectual understanding of the basis and purpose of organized party politics, a sense of loyalty and allegiance to each other, a self-imposed spirit of fairness and reasonableness in accepting the decisions of a democratic majority, and a willingness to share the workload and responsibilities of various political and governmental endeavors – these are the necessary ingredients of a dynamic, efficient, and successful political organization.”

Allegheny County Democrat, Winter 1980.

On behalf of the members of the Allegheny County Democratic Committee, we extend our deepest condolences to the Wecht family.

Sam Hens-Greco, Chair

Morgan Overton, Vice-Chair

Chair Eileen Kelly 2018-2022

Chair Nancy Patton Mills 2012-2018

Chair James R. Burn, Jr. 2006-2012

Chair Jean A. Milko 2005 – 2006

Honorable Thomas E. Flaherty 2002 – 2005